Temporary Restriction of Travel

Following the European Council Recommendation, of June, 30th, 2020, regarding the temporary restriction of travel not indispensable for the EU and the possible lifting of such restrictions, the Portuguese Government, by order no. 6756-C/2020, has determined the adoption, with immediate effect, of the following measures:

  • A. Allow air traffic to and from Portugal for all flights to and from countries that are part of the European Union, Schengen countries (Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland and Switzerland) and the United Kingdom under the Withdrawal Agreement between the European Union and the United Kingdom.
  • B. Allow flights from the following countries: Algeria, Canada, South Korea, Morocco, Tunisia and China, provided that, presented a positive epidemiological assessment, these are direct air connections with Portugal, all subject to confirmation of reciprocity.
  • C. Prohibit air traffic to and from Portugal from all flights to and from countries not part of the European Union or which are not countries associated with the Schengen Area, except for essential travel onl
    • i. Flights originating in Portuguese-speaking countries; from Brazil, however, only flights from and to São Paulo and to and from Rio de Janeiro will be admitted;
    • ii. Flights originating in the United States of America, given the presence of important Portuguese communities.

Passengers authorized to travel must submit at the time of departure, proof of test to COVID-19, with negative result, carried out in the last 72 hours before boarding, otherwise they will be refused to enter national territory. Nationals and holders of legal residency card, in Portugal, who exceptionally do not bear the proof of the COVID-19 test, with a negative result, are immediately referred by the competent security authorities to carry out the test at their own expense. This ban shall not apply to flights intended to allow nationals or holders of a residence permit to return to Portugal, or to flights intended to allow the return to their respective countries of foreign nationals who are in Portugal, provided that such flights are promoted by the competent authorities of such countries, subject to prior request and agreement , and respect for the principle of reciprocity. For this purpose, the trips considered essential are the following:

  • i. Transit or entry into or exit from Portugal by nationals of the European Union, nationals of States associated with the Schengen Area and members of their families and third-country nationals legally resident in a Member State of the European Union;
  • ii. Transit or entry or exit from Portugal of third-country nationals travelling for professional, study, family reunion, health or humanitarian reasons, and in accordance with the principle of reciprocity.

The Executive is empowered to review the health measures applied, as well as to adopt additional specific measures that may prove necessary depending on the origin of the flights, in view of the European Council Recommendation and the evaluation of the epidemiological situation by the ECDC (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control).

These measures enter into force from 00:00, July 1st, 2020, and until 23:59 on July 15th 2020, with the exception of the obligation to present, at the time of departure, proof of test to COVID-19 with negative result, which only takes effect from 00:00 on July 2th, 2020.

TFRA will update the information in this flash whenever justified. Finally, we would like to alert that the information contained in this document is of a generic nature, therefore it does not exempt the consulting of the official documentation and legislation in force at any given time.

Scroll to Top