Covid19 – New Contingency Situation Measures

The Resolution of the Council of Ministers No. 96-B/2020, dated of November 12th, in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, shall enter into force at 00:00 A.M. on November 13th, 2020 and foresees the following changes:

  1. Extension of the state of calamity until 11:59 P.M. on November 23rd, 2020.
  2. Elimination of some municipalities (Batalha, Mesão Frio, Moimenta da Beira, Pinhel, São João da Pesqueira, Tabuaço and Tondela) from the list of municipalities that were considered to be of high risk due to the spread of the pandemic, which shall no longer be subject to special measures as from 00:00 A.M. on November 13th, 2020
  3. Addition, with effects as from 00:00 A.M. on November 16th, 2020, of new municipalities to the list of those that are considered to be of high risk due to the spread of the pandemic (included in Annex I herewith attached, duly highlighted in bold for ease of reference). Therefore, all special restrictions (including the stated in the following number) defined for high risk municipalities shall only apply to the said municipalities as from the referred date.
  4. In all the municipalities indicated in Annex I (notwithstanding the indicated in the previous number) the retail and service establishments shall, with effect as from 00:00 A.M. on November 13th, 2020, be obliged on Saturdays and Sundays, outside the period between 08:00 A.M. and 01:00 P.M., to suspend their activities, except in the following cases:
    • a) Food, natural or dietetic, health and hygiene retail establishments with a sales or service area of 200 square metres or less with independent entrance from the public road;
    • b) Restaurant and similar establishments, irrespective of the sales or service area, provided that they are for the sole purpose of home delivery;
    • c) Pharmacies;
    • d) Funeral and related activities;
    • e) Medical services or other health and social support services, namely doctor’s offices and clinics, dental clinics and emergency medical-veterinary care centres;
    • f) Service areas and gas stations that integrate highways (cafeteria and restaurant activities are not allowed);
    • g) Gas stations not covered by the previous item, exclusively for the purpose of selling fuel and supplying vehicles of the public and provided that in the scope of the displacements authorized under Article 3 of Decree No. 8/2020, dated of November 8th;
    • h) Establishments for the provision of rental services of goods vehicles without driver (rent-a-cargo) and rental of passenger vehicles without driver (rent-a-car);
    • i) Establishments providing accommodation services;
    • j) Establishments in airports situated on national mainland territory, after passenger security checks.


  • Without prejudice to the obligation to close between 8:00 P.M. and 11:00 P.M., established in paragraph 3 of Article 10 of the Resolution of the Council of Ministers no. 92-A/202, dated of November 2nd, establishments whose opening hours are before 8:00 A.M. may continue to practice the usual opening hours. The usual opening hours are those that have been communicated to the municipality with territorial jurisdiction until the entry into force of Decree no. 8/2020, dated of November 8th.
  • Establishments authorized to operate 24 hours a day are authorized to reopen as of 08:00 A.M..
  • This regime constitutes a special rule and prevails over the other provisions of the Council of Ministers Resolution no. 92-A/2020, dated of November 2nd that provide otherwise.

TFRA will update the information of this flash whenever justified. Finally, we would like to highlight that the information contained in this document is of a generic nature and, therefore, does not exempt the analysis of the specific case, nor the consultation of the official documentation and legislation in force at each moment.

Scroll to Top